NSU President Larry Williams Announces Retirement

preswilliams.jpg 

From the office of Vice President Kim Cherry:  

Dr. Larry Williams, a 40-year veteran of Oklahoma higher education, today told Northeastern State University faculty and staff he will retire as president of the institution effective June 30.  Williams, who became the university’s fifteenth president in July 1997, has been on medical leave due to complications resulting from a heart attack suffered last March.

“Although I am very pleased with my recovery thus far, I am still working to get back to where I would like to be,” Williams said. “The decision to step down is a difficult one, but I am looking forward to the pleasure of spending time with my grandchildren and finding other ways in which I can be of service to the higher education community.” 

RUSO, which serves as NSU’s governing board, will conduct the search process for a new chief executive officer.

Leave a Reply

