Library Student Workers Honored.

 DELTA Leadership Training Academy Class 2007-2008

The DELTA Leadership Banquet was held Friday night (April 18th). This year’s DELTA Leadership Academy Class had among its membership Elizabeth Bennethum, a student worker at the library (center of back row, above). Following the opening welcome and introductions, four individuals were recognized as the recipients of this year’s “Outstanding Senior Awards.” Included among the four was another of the library’s student workers, Olaf Standley (below with his proud mother). The other awardees were Meagan Newsome, Taunia Smith, and Alice Rathe. 

The program continued with the presentation of the Jack L. Haney Service Award (a new award this year) which is awarded to “the student who has shown outstanding service to NSU and/or the community” (named after, and in honor of, the recently retired but long time NSUBA administrator who embodied this spirit of service). And the winner was . . . Olaf Standley (above).

After a wonderful dinner, we were entertained by a truly exceptional keynote speaker (Josh Sundquist, Paralympic skier [Torino, 2006] ) who kept us in stitches with his tales of adversity, triumph, and goal setting. 

(Josh Sundquist)

(here’s the spread) 

         (Elizabeth and her husband Stephen)

The evening concluded with the presentation of the assorted DELTA Leadership Awards (based upon the core values of the DELTA Leadership Academy) and the Student Government Awards.

Leadership Discipline Award: Mandy Looney

Leadership Excellence Award: Amber Wilcox

Leadership Legacy Award: Robert Catcher

Leadership Trustworthy Award: Megen Cohea

Leadership Ambassadors Award: Danette Martin

Tashi Deley (“I Honor The Greatness In You”) Award: Harmony Pace

Outstanding DELTA Leadership Award: Kenyah Hill

Student Government Senator of the Year Award: Andre Benson

President Pro Tem: Mike Hulett (who was immediately sworn in as the new President of the Student Government).

And, the final recognition of the evening . . . a plaque, out of appreciation for all of the hard work and diligence in establishing a student government body in Broken Arrow, and for serving as its President for so many years . . . Olaf Standley, thank you.

Posted by Tom Rink


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s