Tag Archives: library

DELTA Leadership Awards!

Dena Leetch

Dena Leetch

Congratulations to our very own Dena Leetch (student worker) on being the recipient of the DELTA Trustworthy Award for the Spring 2009 semester.

And, if you see Tony Ward (Network Technician, C&T, NSU-BA) around campus, congratulate him as well.  He was the recipient of the DELTA Trustworthy Award for the Fall 2008 semester.  Congratulations Tony!

Here is a list of all of the student award winners, congratulations one and all!

Outstanding Seniors: Zachary Kemp, Martha Parnell, Katie Dorris, Mandy Looney, and Kelly Parlmer.

Jack L. Haney Service Award: Stephanie Ritchie.

DELTA Discipline Award: Russ Hunter (Fall ’08); Stephen Hastings (Spr. ’09)

DELTA Excellence Award: Samantha Hall (Fall ’08); Whitney Rogers (Spr. ’09)

DELTA Legacy Award: Heather Martin (Fall ’08); Trishia Creamer (Spr. ’09)

DELTA Trustworthy Award: Tony Ward (Fall ’08); Dena Leetch (Spr. ’09)

DELTA Ambassador Award: Angela Priest (Fall ’08); Mary Wallen (Spr. ’09)

DELTA Tashi Deley Award: Cherie Johnson (Fall ’08); Sharon Williams (Spr. ’09)

DELTA Outstanding LeaderAward: Jeff Stroberg (Fall ’08); Jessica Barnes (Spr. ’09)

DELTA Leadership

DELTA Leadership

NPR Library Blog!

For those of you who may be interested, the NPR library has a new blog called “As A Matter of Fact.” 
Posted by Tom R.

New Library Director Named!

Here’s the announcement from Dr. Dalton Bigbee:

“I am very pleased to announce that Dr. Sheila Collins has accepted the position of Executive Director of Libraries effective September 29, 2008.  Dr. Collins comes to us from Minot State University in North Dakota, where she is the Library Director in the Gordon B. Olson Library.  Dr. Olson is an attorney and has an extensive background in leading academic libraries, as well as experience in law libraries.  I know that you will join me in welcoming her to campus.

I want to express my deep appreciation to Mr. Tom Messner, who has served for the last eight months as Interim Director of Libraries, “on loan” from his regular position as the Library Director at our Broken Arrow campus.  Thanks, Tom, for your very capable service during this interregnum.

Thanks, too, to Dr. Martin Venneman, Dean of the College of Science and Health Professions and chair of the search committee, and to his team of professional searchers:  Dr. Renee Cambiano, Dr. Brian Cowlishaw, Ms. Kate Felzien, Ms. Peggy Kaney, Dr. Julia Kwok, Dr. Tom Salmon, Ms. Vickie Sheffler, Ms. Linda Summers, Dr. Eric Terdal, and Dr. Linda West.  Your service on the search committee is greatly appreciated.”

Posted by Tom Rink

Legislators on Campus Today.

The Broken Arrow Campus was paid a special visit today by the Honorable John Sullivan (Congressman, District 1) and the Honorable Bill Brown (State Senator, District 36) both of whom are graduates of NSU.  Hosting the legislators were Dr. Ed Huckeby (Associate Vice President, Academic Affairs-BA) and Dr. George Foster (Dean of the College of Optometry).  We took advantage of this wonderful photo opportunity during their brief stop at the library. 

Pictured from left to right are Senator Bill Brown, Tom Rink, Congressman John Sullivan, Dr. Ed Huckeby, and Dr. George Foster.

Posted by Tom Rink

C&T Install New Plasma TV


NSUBA Computing and telecommunications personnel installed a new plasma tv on the first floor of the library today. Rumor has it cable tv will be installed next week.

Posted by Linda Summers

Spring Schedules Available


Paper copies of the Spring 2008 class schedule are now available at each circulation desk in the library.

The electronic version can be accessed at http://www.nsuok.edu/schedules/spring/

Update on Faculty Opening

As you may be aware, the NSU-BA Library is currently seeking a professional librarian to serve as both instructor and resource coordinator for the College of Liberal Arts. 

Several highly qualified candidates have applied and interviews have been conducted; therefore, if all goes as planned, the next post addressing this issue will be the introduction of a new faculty member.